2010 Tarr Award Winner Announced

Beloved Children’s Author Jean Little to Receive
2010 Leslie K. Tarr Award for Outstanding Career Achievement

Gifted storyteller Jean Little has won young readers and awards by not sugar-coating life’s challenges.

Mississauga, Ontario — Jean Little, 78, of Guelph, Ontario, award-winning children’s author and member of the Order of Canada, will receive the twenty-second annual Leslie K. Tarr Award for outstanding career achievement.

The award will be presented on Wednesday, June 16th, during The Word Guild awards gala at the World Vision headquarters in Mississauga, Ontario.

Named in honour of its first recipient, the late Leslie K. Tarr, a Toronto journalist, editor, and teacher, the Tarr Award celebrates a major career contribution to Christian writing and publishing in Canada. Previous recipients include author Rudy Wiebe and poet Margaret Avison, both two-time Governor General’s Literary Award winners, and Janette Oke, whose inspirational novels have sold over 28 million copies.

The Leslie K. Tarr Award is sponsored by Tyndale University College and Seminary and administered by The Word Guild.

Read the complete press release

Download the press release as a Word document

Leave a Reply