Leslie K. Tarr Award

This award recognizes a major career contribution to Christian writing and publishing in Canada.

Leslie K. Tarr

Leslie K TarrNamed in honour of its first recipient, the late Leslie K. Tarr.  Leslie K. Tarr; seminary professor, pastor, and journalist was one of the first editors of Faith Today, former Canadian Director of the Decision magazine, and a prolific contributor to a wide variety of secular and Christian publications.

The Reverend Tarr also authored biography, Shields of Canada, and despite disability and many years of painful illness, Les Tarr was a much-published and respected writer who remains an inspiration to us all.


– Canadian Citizen
– Affirms The Apostles Creed
– Demonstrated excellence in his or her own writing;
– Contributed to the development of Christian writing and writers in Canada;
– Helped position the church in Canadian society, leading to better understanding of Christianity.

*Candidates must meet all criteria.


The Tarr Award was created  and administered from 1988 to 2001 by Faith Today magazine and its publisher, The Evangelical Fellowship of Canada. The Word Guild assumed responsibility for administering the Tarr Award in 2002. Beginning in 2004, the engraved plaque was augmented with a cash prize. The Tarr Award was sponsored from 2005-20 by Tyndale University College and Seminary, Toronto.

Nomination Form

If you would like to nominate someone for this award, please send a letter indicating who you are nominating and giving details why/how you feel this person meets the requirements. your letter should also include brief background information about yourself and your relationship, if any, to the person you are nominating. Feel free to enclose any supporting documentation, such as clippings, reviews, the nominee‘s CV, etc. Nominations are not restricted to members of The Word Guild.

Nominations may be submitted at any time for consideration for future awards.
Complete the Online Nomination Form and send any additional information as required above to:
Tarr Award, The Word Guild, Box 77001, Markham ON L3P 0C8

Previous Winners



Glen Argan_2018 leslie k tarr winner

2018 Winner
Glen Argan
Newspaper Editor, Journalist, Professor

 Brian Stiller - Leslie K Tarr Winner
2017 Winner
Brian Stiller, Author/Speaker/Blogger/
Broadcaster  Founder of Faith Today magazine.
2016 Winner
Dr. James Houston, professor/writer

2014 Winner

Katie Funk Wiebe, professor, writer

2012 Winner
Jean Vanier,
Philosopher, Theologian, Humanitarian
2011 Winner
J.I. Packer, theologian
2010 Winner
Jean Little, Story Teller
Ray Wiseman
2009 Winner
Ray Wiseman
Novelist/Columnist/Freelance Writer
Connie Brummel Crook
2008 Winner
Connie Brummel Crook, novelist, teacher
Ruby Wiebe
2007 Winner
Rudy Wiebe, novelist, nonfiction author & teacher
Lloyd Mackey
2006 Winner
Lloyd Mackey, journalist, author & publisher
Bob Harvey
2006 Winner
Bob Harvey, journalist
Margaret Avison
2005 Winner
Margaret Avison, poet
Janette Oke
2004 Winner
Janette Oke, novelist
Margaret A. Epp
2003 Winner
Margaret A. Epp, teacher/author/minister
2002 Winner
Grace Irwin, teacher/author/minister
2001 Winner
Larry Matthews, editor/writer/consultant
2000 Winner
Doug Koop, editor/journalist
1999 Winner
Audrey Dorsch, editor/writer
1998 Winner
Jim Taylor, editor/author/publisher
1997 Winner
Hugh Cook, professor/author
1996 Winner
W. Harold Fuller, writer/author
1995 Winner
John White, author
1994 Winner
Phyllis Mitchell, columnist/author
1993 Winner
Harold Jantz, founder/editor, Christian Week
1992 Winner
E. Margaret Clarkson, poet/author/hymnwriter
1990 Winner
Maxine Hancock, professor/broadcaster/author
1989 Winner
John H. Redekop, professor/author
Leslie K. Tarr
1988 Winner
Leslie K. Tarr, writer/editor/author